Hayes Biggs played by Thomas Stumpf (YouTube)

Pianist Thomas Stumpf’s latest Albany Records recording features composer Hayes Biggs’s first Piano Prelude, The Secret the Silent Lazarus Would Not Reveal. Based on the poem, “The Afterlife,” by Billy Collins, it is a virtuosic traversal of the piano’s low register, featuring sepulchrally jazzy chords and ominous angular melodies.

Stumpf’s Reflections on Time and Mortalitya two-disc set, also includes pieces by Chopin, Debussy, Janàcek, Bartók, John McDonald, and Yehudi Wyner.

Goldfrapp: “Ocean” (YouTube)

Photo: Alison Goldfrapp

Goldfrapp’s new LP, Silver Eye, is out March 31st via Mute. A more synth-filled adventure this time around, which one can hear on the album’s leadoff track “Ocean.” While not all of their tour is confirmed as yet, there are dates (below) in the New York and Philadelphia areas.

Silver Eye Tour Dates:
20th March – O2 Academy, Oxford – SOLD OUT
21st March – The Junction, Cambridge – SOLD OUT
23rd March – The Leadmill, Sheffield – SOLD OUT
24th March – BBC 6 Music Festival, Glasgow – SOLD OUT
27th March – Roundhouse, London – SOLD OUT
24th April – Theatre Of Living Arts, Philadelphia
26th April – Brooklyn Steel, New York
27th April – Brooklyn Steel, New York 
8th July – Blue Dot Festival
14th July – Latitude Festival

Dirty Projectors: Little Bubble

David Longstreth
David Longstreth

Dirty Projectors’ latest single, “Little Bubble,” is accompanied by a captivating video. It finds David Longstreth navigating our imperiled ecosystem, eventually barricading himself in a bubble of flora and fauna in an attempt to stave off the elements of environmental catastrophe. Both the sentiment and the visual components could not be more timely, and the song has an attractively lush arrangement to boot (a bit of an ironic twist).

We don’t know when Dirty Projectors’ next LP is going to be out, but we do know it is likely to be awesome.

Marching Church: “2016”

This will likely resonate with many viewers – burning one’s 2016 calendar book in a vain attempt to undo the blighted year that was.

Marching Church is touring in support of its Sacred Bones LP “Telling it Like it Is” (dates below).

Marching Church Tour Dates:
Fri. Jan. 13 — Seattle, WA @ The Sunset #
Sat. Jan. 14 — Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios #
Mon. Jan. 16 – Santa Rosa, CA @ Arlene Francis Center #
Tue. Jan. 17 —San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop #
Thu. Jan. 19 — Los Angeles, CA @ Echo #
Fri. Jan. 20 — San Diego, CA @ Hideout #
Sat. Jan. 21 — Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge #
Sun. Jan. 22 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister #
Tue. Jan. 24 — Austin, TX @ The Mohawk #
Wed. Jan. 25 — San Antonio, TX @ The Monterey #
Thu. Jan. 26 – McAllen, TX @Yerberia Cultura #
Fri. Jan. 27 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall #
Sat. Jan. 28 — New Orleans, LA@ Siberia #
Sun. Jan. 29 — Atlanta, GA @ The Earl #
Mon. Jan. 30 — Nashville, TN @ Third Man #
Tue. Jan. 31 — Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight #
Thu. Feb. 2 — Baltimore, MD @ Metro #
Fri. Feb. 3 — Philadelphia, PA @ Boot and Saddle #
Sat. Feb. 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Sunnyvale #
Wed. Feb. 15 – Aarhus, DK @ Tape
Thu. Feb. 16 – Aalborg, DK @ Studenterhuset
Fri. Feb. 17 – Copenhagen, DK @ Frost Festival

# = with Bernardino Femminielli

Low – “Some Hearts (At Christmastime)”

low-photo-zoran-orlic
Low. Photo: Zoran Orlic

 

A new Christmas song from our favorite slowcore Mormons:

 

 

“To friends who have moved away and friends who have passed on this year. To one and all, especially those who are alone, we wish you a Merry Christmas and new hope for the new year. May we all find ways to lift each other.

With love,

Mimi, Alan and Steve.”

____________

Low records for Sub Pop.